Photo credit: Nancy Center

We’re almost at the end of a decade. That blows my mind, because I remember 2010 like it was yesterday. It’s wild what all has happened in the span of one decade.

I don’t have my word for 2020 yet, but I do have a prayer on my heart that I’ve scribbled down in my journal often over the past few months. It’s really simple.

“Help me love well, God.”

I’ve been stripped this year. I thought I knew how to love, but now I feel like I’ve barely scratched the surface. So I keep praying it, “Just help me love well.”

I feel like my life has been turned upside down and shaken and all that remains is a new understanding that love is what matters most of all. This year started with a shift, in more ways than one.

I’ll never forget December 31, 2018. I didn’t stay up until midnight that day, to bring in the new year. But before I went to sleep that night, I stared up at the ceiling and thought about the past five years of my life. Each New Year marks the anniversary of unofficially starting my journey as a single mom. I was still living in Tokyo, Japan. Three months later, I would land in Colorado with Emma and start my life over. I would work my tail off to stay afloat with three jobs while living in a little one-bedroom apartment, two blocks away…

--

--

Meg Delagrange

Born Amish. Over 22 moves between New York and Tokyo. I design things. I play with canvases in my studio. Occasionally I write.