15 Ways to Stop the Cycles of Your Family Dysfunction

Meg Delagrange
3 min readJan 21, 2020
Stock image from Pexels

To make it work, I would always make everything my fault. To make it succeed, I would carry all the responsibility.

Have you ever done that? Can you relate?

To be honest, I didn’t even realize that I was doing this. I wasn’t aware of what was happening. I was raised this way, programmed to always take the blame by a sociopathic, narcissistic father. He was unknowingly living from his own wounds of horrible childhood trauma, and so the vicious cycle was just continuing…

But now the cycle STOPS with me.

It stops every time I say no when something doesn’t feel right or even just because I can. Yes, sometimes I say “No” just because I can! (Someone else needs to try that!) Thank you, Barbra Ellen Russell.

It stops every time I heal some more.

It stops every time I stop patronizing people — because that’s lying.

It stops every time I choose to forgive, without justifying abuse.

It stops every time I stop making myself responsible for someone else’s success or someone else’s happiness.

It stops every time I take ownership of my own journey.

It stops every time I make a better boundary.

--

--

Meg Delagrange

Born Amish. Over 22 moves between New York and Tokyo. I design things. I play with canvases in my studio. Occasionally I write.